Of Thoughts and Swords

A blog about Science, Philosophy, Wargaming, Literature and other things, in three or more languages.

Travel Time: Lübeck

I do not travel enough. Really I don´t, and most other people probably do as well. Unlike people who are at home < being away, they travel enough. With all the problems my new jobs brings along, it gives me the ability to put some money aside to travel. This time I visited Lübeck, one of the preeminent cities of the Hanse (who doesn´t know what this is, look it up, you´ll find a lot about it on the net, it also is worth it, I promise), the main reason albeit was visiting a friend of mine.

To be exact an old schoolmate, who I have not visited in all the years she now lives in the north. This time I finally managed to give her the お守り I bought for her back in 2010…

Lübeck definitely is a town worth visiting. For one it is old, most of the historical inner city is still intact since around 1600 something something, at least the model depicting the city from this time quite clearly makes this statement. I love old architecture. Many modern buildings are so cold and lifeless, I hate it. Here you have small little merchant homes, huge cathedrals (one of the highest which only was surpassed by the Kölner Dom, when it finally was finished), and some newer stuff for variance. This of course is true for the inner city, which is located on a hill, between two rivers spanning approximately 2 km².

The outer parts of the city have a much more modern look, but I wasn´t really there so no idea;)

Being an island space was at a premium, that is why there are a lot of “Gänge” (tunnels if you wish), which are generally small and make way to the backyards of the large merchant houses that were build in the past. They have no specific form, are quite romantic (you can rent many a small house there, if you need a bed in Lübeck) and very diverse, as the only regulation that applied back then was: a coffin has to fit through. That´s what I call practical thinking.

One thing that was really refreshing, were the graffiti. Yes, graffiti. There aren´t many. All the protests, demonstration flyer etc. are stuck to the drainage or the electrical wire distributors. Almost none of it is stuck to the wall directly. It is awesome to see so much Anstand within the people. A behavior totally unthinkable back in the Ruhrgebiet were I live. Maybe there is hope for mankind after all.

I saw a bit of the city, including a really horrid new museum (how that thing opened is miracle to me, my words fail me how awful it was, someone should get shot for this), and some proper ones. Of course I bought a little bit of Marzipan (look it up I implore you;)) for the people at home. Funny side note, I said to my friend that I expect to spend around 50 € for it and then I paid exactly 50 € at the register, sometimes life is cool.

Out to the sea I bathed in its atmosphere (not in it itself, as I had no bathing cloth with me) and visited the “Passat”, one of four remaining ships of its type worldwide. It is a swimming museum with a loading capacity of over 4000 tons and a reminder how sea trade used to look like. Do it, if you are around Lübeck it is worth it.

Being in a centre of commerce like Lübeck and breathing it´s history it reminded me of the power of commerce. I am a very strict opponent of capitalism, I think that horrid idea is well past it´s time, but commerce and trading. These are good things. Why? Because of the exchange, ideas and goods go around and enrich the life of everybody. What´s there not to like?

By the way this is the travel guide I used. It turned out to be well written and informed, so I can recommend it.

One last thing I met a young woman from Hamburg, a middle aged woman from Lübeck and an elderly woman from Australia and had nice chats with them. In two cases I don´t even know the names of them. Travelling rocks.

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2015 by in Random Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , .
