Of Thoughts and Swords

A blog about Science, Philosophy, Wargaming, Literature and other things, in three or more languages.

Travel Time: Edinburgh

So finally I got my ass up again into another country. It was a spontanous decision, the kind of decision I really rarely ratify, so it was short, but totally worth it.

I went to Edinburgh for two days and I will be back. In the featured image you see the worlds largest monument to a writer (which on I leave up to you to find out). A country which celebrates writers like that has to be a good one.

In short summary: The people in Scotland were very friendly and open. Even not knowing my way around and all I never really felt unaesy around any place I went within Edinburgh. Of course I haven´t been everywhere, still a friendly atmosphere permeated everything. Awesome.

The high number of money changers and ATMs reminded me of the British Pund problem, really guys, just get into the Euro and the world will be a lot easier for everyone.

Other remnants of Empire are still visible with the shops and restaurants from all over the place, speak planet. Right now here in Germany everybody is hyped about integration of the refugees, take a look there guys. It works. On both sides, in a country(ies) with such a mixed population a general conduct of respect has established itself. The first thing I noticed back in Germany was how careless everybody is about the well-being of others in public…

Somehow I didn´t manage to eat real Haggis and also I didn´t taste Irn-bru, well next time.

Again best thing about travelling is meeting new people, besides being in new, awesome place, of course. This time a funny list.

  1. I met an old aquaintance of mine at the airport. I hadn´t seen him for over a year, he took the same flight to Edinburgh as me, figures.
  2. In the plane I meet a German student of Glasgow, was a nice enlightening chat.
  3. On my way to finding lunch which agrees with my troubled stomach I get into a burger bar. The first thing the bar mistress notices is my German accent, because she is from Austria! Well that much for talking English there.
  4. At the end of a ghost tour I talked to a sweet couple from Oregon, they liked the hills of Edinburgh, just like me:)
  5. On my way up to Arthurs Seat, a cold volcano inside the city, I met a musicologist writing her PHD from Chigago, we had a nice chat in the oldest pub in Edinburgh. (Well, the oldest confirmed place of a pub from the 1360, the actual building is from the 19th century.)
  6. On my way back I met a friend of one of my colleagues in my theatre troupe, Yupp the world is small.

Besides that I can´t wait to get back there, especially as I did not buy anything with a Tartan pattern on it.

On another note before I dump pictures, the first thing I heard when I stepped out of the bus in the city proper was a piper – piping the StarWars theme 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 comments on “Travel Time: Edinburgh

  1. mukul chand
    May 27, 2016

    great post

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2016 by in Travel and tagged , , , , .
