Of Thoughts and Swords

A blog about Science, Philosophy, Wargaming, Literature and other things, in three or more languages.

Travel Time: The Netherlands Southwest

So mostly due to my parents I returned to the Netherlands after a long time. I always joke about the country, because that is what we do in Germany:) Still I don´t mean it, even though I do question the sanitiy of living in country which can be flooded by one broken dike.

Something that happened for example 1953 and is remembered vividly in the Watersnoodmuseum close to Ouwerkerk. Most of it is in flamic, but some parts are in english. It collects the information about the catastrophe very well and is a good place fpr research about it. It actually is housed in the Caissons used to close the gap back then. I can recommend it on mamy levels, especially as it shows what humans can achieve, if they only want to and are not hindered by crap like capitalism.

Besides that?

There was a beautiful sundown to be watched.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On other notes I went swimming for the first time in years, felt good.

The people there are really nice even though I really have to admonish myself not to laugh, everytime they speak…

I spent the holiday with my parents which was nice, because I don´t see them that often, and also trying, no one can get me as angry as my mother does. It was good overall.

Also everything there is so flat, coming from a mountainous region, that is really strange. Going to the ocean really is something one should do once in a while.

When is it yout turn?

2 comments on “Travel Time: The Netherlands Southwest

  1. Roselinde
    September 17, 2016

    Prachtig! Don’t worry about it, we also joke about Germany 😉

    • asreon
      September 17, 2016

      That is only fair 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2016 by in Travel and tagged , .
